CARLING MATEJKA 

IMG_9083_jpg.JPG

CARLING MATEJKA

I am a 28 year old veterinarian from Ponoka, Alberta, Canada. After high school, I moved to Edmonton, Alberta to work on my Bachelor of Science in Agriculture at the University of Alberta. I then moved to Calgary, Alberta where I I spent 4 years and completed veterinary degree at the University of Calgary in 2018. 

 

For as long as I can remember, I have been interested in becoming a veterinarian. Growing up, school never came easy for me and multiple people around me told me to give up on my veterinary dream. But, I had amazing family and friends that continued to encourage me to keep pushing myself to work hard. My mom was always my #1 fan and I would not be where I am today without her. 

 

I grew up on a purebred red/black angus and hereford cattle seedstock operation (check out my page on agriculture to learn about what this is). We also had a purebred suffolk sheep flock (and a herd of barn cats and 2 horses). My family was always very involved in 4H and exhibiting cattle and sheep at livestock shows. Being involved in 4H/livestock shows taught me critical interpersonal, networking, public speaking, brainstorming, team work, husbandry, and accountability skills. I would not be the confident individual today without these programs. 

 

Currently, I live in Calgary, Alberta. I am very close with my family and spend a lot of time at the family farm I grew up on. I have a dog that I rescued from Saving Grace Animal Society. I am very social and really enjoy spending time with my friends and family.

 

I am very excited to share my journeys with you! 

OUTSIDE VET MED

Weight lifting. Hiking. Friends. Family. Painting. Baseball. Travel. Golfing.

squatd-15-(ZF-0357-43181-1-002).jpg
IMG_9930.jpg
IMG_7585.JPG
IMG_0136.JPG
IMG_2901.JPG
IMG_1984.JPG
IMG_1554_edited.jpg

Follow me on INSTAGRAM